The Hypocrite

Go on ahead, and take a good look at your friend

And reminisce back to all those past times I preached about

“never giving in”

To people from far distant places

Places promised never to revisit even in my head

Like, a social status full of disguised photos

That hides the ugly truth that runs through my blood underneath my skin

But, with a big fake smile

I can play the actor and pretend

Like it’s all so damn important

But boy by now, you better know who’re your true friends

Because it’s hilarious

And it’s sad

It’s comedic

And it’s tragic

What loneliness can do to a man

And I could blame it all on time

But the truth is… This is the loneliest I’ve ever been

So, go on ahead and take a good look at me now,

The one that choked on his own words

THE HYPOCRITE

(ALWAYS STAY TRUE TO YOUR SELF / NO MATTER WHAT THE CONSEQUENCE IS)

Leave a comment