The Saddest Smile

I was going to say something good…

On that night at our favorite bar

When we agreed to meet over drinks

A debt worth owed

After two agonizing, long weeks

But it was evident it was all over

The instant you entered the scene

And this grand illusion of us

Quickly became a figment of the imagination of a dumb boy’s dream

When our eyes finally met

I couldn’t even speak

And the moment passed in an unsubtle way

As I grinded my teeth

While you waited in silence

Waiting… for something romantic to come spilling out of me

But it’s been a long time

Back in our prime

Since I’ve risen to the occasion, and swept you off your feet

Then, without even saying goodbye

You started to make your way

To your car parked on Canal St.

Just when the perfect words arrived

A year too late

You turned back and smiled

The Saddest Smile

Probably, the last smile from you

I’ll ever again get to see

 

By: S.M. Reno

Processed with MOLDIV

 

Leave a comment